Ivel Valley


At Ivel Valley we employ a range of approaches and interventions to ensure that the curriculum we offer meets the needs of individual children.

We recognise that pupils need to work on the skills connected to a clearer understanding of non-verbal and verbal communication, social understanding and social behaviour, understanding and controlling their own emotions and thinking and behaving flexibly.

We therefore use the principles of the SCERTS approach (Social Communication, Emotional Regulation, and Transactional Support) to support development of these skills.

The SCERTS® Model is a research-based educational approach and multidisciplinary framework that directly addresses the core challenges faced by children and persons with ASD and related disabilities, and their families. SCERTS® focuses on building competence in Social Communication, Emotional Regulation and Transactional Support.

More information can be found on the SCERTS website:

Within the SCERTS programme social communication is split into 3 stages:

Social Partner Stage:
Children may develop the ability to communicate intentionally with gesture and/ or vocalisations

Language Partner Stage:
Pupils communicate for a purpose using symbols, signs and/ or words

Conversation Partner Stage:
Pupils use words, phrases and sentences. They begin to learn how to engage fully in conversations. Pupils begin to develop an understanding of the feelings and thoughts of others.

More information about the stages and how we support pupils at each of the stages can be found in the resources below.

IQM Logo