In Key Stage 4 we encourage students to reach their full potential, academically and in their personal and social development. We encourage independence in the preparation for adulthood.

The National Curriculum subjects form the foundation of the curriculum with an emphasis on the development of practical skills for independence and work related learning. The majority of students follow a thematic curriculum which allows opportunities to develop personal and social skills essential for making a positive impact on those around them. It also allows for different leaning styles and interests with a focus on links into the community. It prepares students for the next stage of their education with increased confidence and independence.

The emphasis at Key Stage 4 is to widen the range of experiences that the students receive to broaden their learning. Some students achieve qualifications in Functional Skills, whilst others access a more multi-sensory nurturing curriculum to raise self-esteem and reduce anxiety. Vocational experiences and Work Related Learning are offered to all students. 

In KS4 there are a range of opportunities offered based on individual leaning styles and abilities, such as:-

  • Work related learning experiences
  • Travel training in the local community
  • Independence and life skills including shopping cooking and budgeting
  • Sex and relationships education
  • Duke of Edinburgh Award
  • Vocational experiences which include, hair and beauty, horticulture and catering

Curriculum Overview